In Single Day: Supreme Court gets 5 more Judges

Supreme Court India

Supreme Court gets 5 more judges, now the strength of the apex court to 31, including chief justice of India. On Friday, this 1st time in 27 years, 5 new Supreme Court judges took oath in a one single day.

At previous, on 6 October, 1989, 6 Supreme Court judges taken oath on the one single same day.

Supreme Court India

The 5 Supreme Court judges are:

  • Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul
  • Justice M M Shantanagoudar
  • Justice Abdul Nazeer
  •  Justice Navin Sinha
  • Justice Deepak Gupta

These 5 Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul, M M Shantanagoudar, Abdul Nazeer, Navin Sinha and Deepak Gupta were administered the oath by J S Khehar in the Chief Justice India’s courtroom.

Justice Navin Sinha was the Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court and Justice Kishan Kaul was the Chief Justice of Madras High Court. Justice Abdul Nazeer wad Judge in the Karnatak High Court.

And, Justice Deepak Gupta were Chief Justice in Chhattisgarh High Court while Justice Mohan M Shantanagoudar was the Chief Justice of Kerela High Court.

Recently, President Pranab Mukherjee had signed their warrants of Appointment. Now the sanctioned strength of the judges in the apex court is 31 and also included Chief Justice of India.

This was first in 27 years, the Supreme Court gets 5 judges in one single day. Once before on 6 October, 1989, Six judges taken oath on the same day.